Last assembly for the 2008-2009 school year

Last assembly for the 2008-2009 school year

By Mallorie Leal Posted June 3, 2009

On May 27 Lowry hosted its last assembly for the 2008-2009 school year. The last assembly was high spirited and many came dressed in their spirited blue and gold attire.

This was the last assembly for the seniors, so many were involved in the activities. Student Body Treasurer Jordan Sloan announced the beginning of the assembly as he introduced Gianesi Tarafa and Tahshina Munk to sing the national anthem. After their performance, students stayed standing for the school song.

Officer Dawson then acknowledged the students who have worked in Teen Court, and accompanying him was Judge Montero. Judge Montero handed seniors Jayme Poole, Hannah Hammon, and Sarah Sundahl plaques for their dedication to Teen Court. Student Body Historian Camille Lyon then passed the microphone to Mrs. Grady who would announce the end of the year awards to teachers who are leaving Lowry.

Mrs. Grady recognized Vince Mendiola, Sondra Henriod, and Janet Kennedy for all of their accomplishments at Lowry as this year will be their last at the high school.

The assembly was then moved to the announcing of the class of the year. A volunteer from each class was asked to participate in a pie-eating contest to discover the class of the year. Senior Gino Parolin, junior Gabby Roman, sophomore Mitch Pollock, and freshmen Jacob Carver all volunteered. The 2008-2009 class of the year was the juniors. Fourth place was the seniors, third place was the freshmen, and the sophomores came in second.

The assembly ended with a slideshow prepared by the yearbook staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *