NHS inducts new members

NHS inducts new members

By Stephanie Hageman Posted December 17, 2008

On Thursday, December 11 Lowry’s Torch Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted its newest members.

Mrs. Michelle Doyle was the keynote speaker. She spoke about the book This I Believe. She believes our generation is going to make a better future.

Mr. Doug Conner played guitar and sang “Forever Young,” by Bob Dylan.

Current members: Kole Kracaw, Hayley Noble, Samantha Buttrum and Sophie Kristof explained the importance of each of the pillars of NHS. The pillars are character, scholarship, leadership, and service.

To be eligible for the National Honors Society students need a 3.5 GPA, two letters of recommendation from anyone who is not an LHS staff member, and to write an essay about a given topic. Their character is also evaluated by Lowry staff members.

After students become members of NHS they need to maintain a GPA of 3.5 and have 400 character, scholarship, and leadership points. Three hours of individual community service is also required.

Torch Chapter Inductees:
Elaina Barta, Elisa Higbee, Shane Bell, Martin Iroz, Dillon Bryan, Emelia Legarza, Miranda Buttram, Jessica Lindsay, Gaudy Casteneda, Collin Messerly, Tyler Cox, Terrell Messerly, David Eastman, Anders Pace, Carlos Esparza, Mitch Pollock, Arline Franco, Alex Schumacher, Militza Galvan, Erin Tattersall, Noel Garcia, Jordan Tucker, Jacob Gibson, Dean Vetter, Mary Granath, Patrick York, Luis Gutierrez, Josh Young, Desiree Hicks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *