Scholarship Night showcases senior achievements

Scholarship Night showcases senior achievements

By Chloe Rusconi Posted June 3, 2009

Lowry High School held its annual scholarship night at the Winnemucca Convention Center on May 20. Principal Deborah Watts welcomed the attendees and gave the first scholarship of the night to Lowry’s first National Merit Scholar, Katherine Granath.

Barrick and Newmont gave awards to the children of their employees including Elena Chiquete, Brittany Jones, Sophie Kristof, Tim Principe, and Sarah Sundahl. Sam Buttram and Zack Pruett of Barrick, and Freddy Bernabe, Ashley Brooks, Sam Buttram, Brandon Connell, Stephanie Davis, Nicole Hageman, Stevie Hamilton, Garett Hanzlik, and Trevin Jarrett of Newmont.

Great Basin College gave scholarships to their future students Ashley Brooks, Hannah Hammon, Lindsey Steepleton, Lydia Sweeney, and Kaitlen Thompson.

Lowry offered six types of scholarships: Hispanic Club, Letterman’s Club, Letterman’s Club Vince Mendiola, Spanish Club, National Honor Society, and LHS Staff.

The Army scholarships totaled a jaw-dropping amount of over $1,595,000. On top of these scholarships, the students that enlisted were also awarded 100% of their tuition costs. Olen Brown received $52,000, Ashley Pugh $86,000, Oscar Arechiga $91,000, Sean Raynor $97,000, Mario Diaz $99,956, and Ryan Mathes $110,000.

After announcing the scholarships Sergeant Conklin awarded Certificates of Appreciation to Ms. Sondra Henriod and Mr. Richard Matthys of the counseling department. “If I needed her on a Saturday she would be there to help,” said Conklin of Henriod.

Many awards were given by local organizations including the Crazy Quilters, P.E.O. Sisterhood, Cody Louk Wrestling, St. Pat’s Fair, T.G. Sheppard, Tom Ormachea, Margaret H. Peraldo Memorial, FFA Alumni, Ladies Booster Club Florence Doughty, Julian Montero Memorial and many more. Colleges near and far offered multiple scholarships to prospective students also. After each attending student had received at least one scholarship, Mrs. Watts thanked everyone for coming and the student recipients all left with smiles on their faces.

Leave a Reply