Wrestlers return to work

Wrestlers return to work

By Taylor LaTray & Brandon Eastman Posted December 14, 2011

For the past three years, the wrestlers have won the state championship with ease. This year the wrestler’s hope for a fourth, paving the way for them leading them to victory is their coachers, John Brooks, Tim Grady, Brant Corak, Jim Billingsley, and Gus Duncan.

“Our goal is the same each year, to stay together and win a team state championship,” said John Brooks. “Currently we have three state championships in a row and thirteen total, we would love another one.”

With captains Gus Duncan, Jace Billingsley, Michael Billingsley, and Ryan Nelson they are ready for another championship. The wrestlers will have many challenges especially with their biggest rivals Spring Creek, Fallon, and 4A teams, mainly because they are the most competitive. Last year’s top competitors for Lowry were many graduated seniors, but also, Jace Billingsley a three-time state champ, Gus Duncan a two-time state champ, Ryan Nelson a two-time state champ, Michael Billingsley a two-time state champ, Fernando Herrera a state champ, and runner-ups Eric Brooks, Aaron Nelson, and Brandon Okuma.

“I can’t say we will win, but I can say we hope to win state for the fourth time, I believe we have strong competitors, but we can do it,” said Beau Billingsley.

The Lowry wrestlers were in action over the weekend, when they traveled to Carson City to take part in the Carson City High School duals.

Even though it was a varsity dual, the JV also participated in the duals. The Bucks ended up beating Bishop Manogue High School, Reno High School, R.O.P., and South Tahoe High School. Their only loss was to the Fallon Greenwave. The Bucks walked out of these varsity duals with a 4-1 record.

The varsity team faced off against North Valleys High School, Spanish Springs High School, Fernley High School, Yerington High School, and Elko High School, all of which they beat. The Bucks ended the day with a 5-0 record to get the wrestling season started off on a high note.

The roster: Alvarez, Luis; Andersen, Cody; Benson, Tyler; Bernal, Jose; Billingsley, Beau; Billingsley, Jace; Billingsley, Michael; Blanco, Kevin; Brooks, Eric; Cardenas, Luis; DeLaRosa IV, Michael; Duncan V, Gus; Duncan, Blake; Hardy, Troy; Hernandez, Ignacio; Herrera, Fernando; Hillyer, Blake; Hummel, Anthony; Johnson, Jedediah; Johnson, Tytin; Kienenberger Jr., Weylin; LeGrand, Donald; Martin, Taylor; Mayo, Alec; Mecham, Cody; Mentaberry, Lane; Meza, Kelvin; Molina, Gabriel; Moreno, Felipe; Nelson, Aaron; Nelson, Matthew; Nelson, Nathan; Ochoa, Juan; Okuma, Brandon; Pollock, Daniel; Rasmussen, Ryan; Raynor, Daniel; Ruiz Jr, Jose; Ruttenbur, Colter; Sadler, Tony; Smith, Derrick; Tyree, Benjamin; Von Aspern, Tyler; Waller, Tristen; Welty, Jacob; Young, Chace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *