Academic Assembly: ‘Cat in the Hat’ style

Academic Assembly: ‘Cat in the Hat’ style

By Jolyn Garcia Posted May 29, 2013

Many students, staff, and parents gathered in the old gym on May 8, to attend the annual Lowry High School Assembly of Excellence. Every year this event takes on a different theme, and this year’s theme was one that everyone would be able to recognize, Dr. Seuss. The shirts handed out for the event had the well-known, Cat in the Hat along with the famous quote “I meant what I said and I said what I meant, I always give 100%,” printed on them. Dr. Seuss-themed decorations welcomed students, staff, and parents as they prepared to hear a total of 812 awards handed out.

There were breaks in the presentation of awards that included performances by the Basque and Spirit of Mexico dancers, along with the members of the Encore Dance Academy and a surprise performance by a few members of the Percussion class.

One of the most important awards that is handed out at the assembly is the Most Inspirational Student award. Every year teachers nominate a student who has faced hardship but has still strived to meet their goals while inspiring others in the process. This year there were two recipients of this award, seniors Marie Linares and Brandon Tomey. Fellow students gave both of their inspirational students a standing ovation as they received their awards.

The top two seniors this year were Carli Evatz and Riata Kull; they were awarded a $1,000 cashier’s check.

The top ten students in each grade level were awarded either a $100 visa credit card or a choice of a $50 visa card or a letterman’s jacket. The top ten seniors were Tyler Brumm, Sarah Custer, Carli Evatz, Sarah Gillespie, Cortney Kieser, Riata Kull, Maddie Mitch, Daniel Pollock, Ashley Principe, and Matt Ruehl. The top ten juniors included Dusty Bryan, Joseba Criswell, Amaya Davis, Maeve Donovan, Hayley Goldblatt, Chris Kitras, Tanner Lecumberry, Tytus Millikan, Taylor Schwartz, and Rachel Sigurdson. The top ten sophomores were Donovan Brumm, Auri Criddle, Alyssa Dendary, Sabrina Jensen, Emma Kracaw, Kylee McClellan, Meg Montero, Josh Rose, Thomas Schwartz, and Elizabeth Sims. The top ten freshmen were Katie Arrien, Caitlynn Cooper, Marcos Duran-Salcedo, Rebekah Goldblatt, Jewel Lapira, Aislinn Marsden, Madison Mayo, Jacob Palmer, Maggie Tyree and Cheyenna Wolicki.

The students of the month were awarded with a free movie pass for Parks Cinemas. The following were selected by their teachers as students of the month throughout the school year: Carly Bell, Trase Bell, Amanda Brandon, Ashley Bressem, Donovan Brumm, Timothy Burroughs, Juan Castro, Lydia Covarrubias, Christopher Dendary, Daisy Diaz, Maeve Donovan, Colin Doyle, Blake Duncan, Marcos Duran-Salcedo, Clay Erquiaga, Rachael Foster, David Galeana, Ryan Godinez, Francisco Gonzalez, Samantha Hernandez, Ere Higbee, Jack Hill, Lindsey Howell, Jessica Jensen, Emma Kracaw, Gabrielle Lapira, Makayla Lopez, Leonard Madrid, Lindsay Pate, Renee Poole, Maria Ramos-Bueno, Joshua Rose, Carina Ruiz, Brandon Tomey, Katherine Tyree, and Perla Valdez.

This year’s Assembly was one that students would not soon forget. With a “Cat in the Hat” theme, some students wonder how they will be able to top the success of this year’s assembly.